ELA B10

A1 CC: Inequalities in Society

I feel like as a white person, I was born with more opportunities than someone of colour or different ethnicity. White people are generally born without a stereotype as opposed to someone of First Nations background. A white person born without stereotypes is almost like a blank slate, nobody has any negative feelings against them. Someone born to a First Nations family however, will be seen differently by society. People may see this newborn baby as dirty, poor, or a criminal, just based on their opinion on that culture as a whole. If I was born not a white person, If I was born First Nations, I think that I definitely have a lot less opportunities than a white person. A person who is a part of a visual minority is seen as lesser in society. People make fun of them because of what they think of their culture as a whole, without even knowing the person they are making fun of. I would definitely feel bad if I was in someone’s position having to go through life with a stereotype following you everywhere, for everyone to see, just because of the colour of my skin. I think if I was born as a  part of a visual minority, like a First Nations group, affirmative action would be a very positive thing in my life. I would be able to have some of the same opportunities as my white peers. I would have a chance of getting a job that I worked hard for, even if I have a darker skin tone. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *